About the walk
This 2.4 mile round-trip walk is perfect to enjoy a beach picnic or dine at one of the superb restaurants nearby. Level sidewalks and bike paths make this walk perfect for anyone on wheels. The panoramic views of Pt. Loma and the Bay blend into seascapes of the Coronado Bridge and downtown. Warning: Dogs are not allowed on this walk.
In the early 1600s, Spanish explorers named the islands “The Coronados”. By 1821 land grants were issued by Governor Pio Pico for “the island or Peninsula in the Port of San Diego”. Then five months later it was sold to an American for $1,000. The Hotel del Coronado, with its Queen Anne Revival Style and iconic red turrets, radiates elegant hospitality.